Send to Kindle


According to information obtained from the Local Organizing Committee in Dayton, Ohio, the Hoopla Ticket Program will officially launch for the 2014 NCAA First Four – tomorrow – December 2, 2013.

Hosted by the University of Dayton, the NCAA First Four has made its share of history since becoming part of the current NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament format.  In 2011 VCU started their Cinderella tournament run with a win in the first-ever NCAA First Four.  In 2012 President Obama and Prime Minister David Cameron attended the first game of the First Four.  In 2013 the Local Organizing Committee secured the First Four through 2015 in large part due to a first-ever First Four sellout. The sellout was announced over 5 months before the games were scheduled to tip-off!

As part of the Hoopla Ticket Program, college basketball fans from around the country have a chance to take part in the work the Committee has started by supporting Airmen from Wright-Patterson Air Force Base and grade school students with tickets to the 2014 NCAA First Four.

Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio’s largest single-site employer, employs approximately 39,000 and the servicemen and women stationed at WPAFB are the heroes of the Dayton Region.  Last year, the committee donated over 2,400 tickets to the Air Force.

If the history of the NCAA First Four tells us anything, it is that the NCAA has found the perfect host site for the games…Thank you Dayton, Ohio.  You have always been a passionate, dedicated, basketball-town and now you are tying this to your commitment to students and the servicemen and women from Wright-Patterson Air Force Base.

* * *

Print Friendly




Tags: , ,